The Extra Load

Brick in the drawer

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” Matthew 11:28-29 (NIV)

It’s been busy the last couple of months. Earlier this year we bought a house in the country. Our daughters have a love for horses so we wanted enough land for pasture and for the last 13 years we have lived with a highway in our backyard – we were ready to put city life behind us.

When moving day came we hired a couple of local guys to help us load our U-Haul with some of our heavier furniture. The day started with two men and about an hour into loading a third guy showed up. They spoke Spanish so I didn’t understand a word, but from the appearance and sound of their hissing laughter I suspected that guy #3 was an instigator; only later to confirm I was right.

There was this wooden horizontal filing cabinet located in my husband’s basement office. Near it was a pile of bricks that we used to secure the carpet atop the septic tank; an effort to dull the clinking sound when the pump would kick in to push water out. I remember that cabinet because I asked our moving guys to try it in every corner of my husbands new office, only for him to veto the decision of having it altogether. “Put that thing in the garage it’s junk,” he said, and those poor movers carried it (once again) out of the house and deposited onto the junk pile in the third stall of the garage.

Fast forward two months and it’s garbage day. As my husband and I went to pick up the cabinet and place it onto the truck, we struggled to lift it. I knew the cabinet was heavy, but I found that I wasn’t strong enough to help him. He opened the drawer to see if we could remove them and make the cabinet lighter when he found a brick right there in the middle of the empty drawer. Sure enough, Mr. Instigator was playing a joke on his friends and found humor in adding weight to the load. Some joke!

This brick reminded me of how I tend to “carry extra weight” in my life.  Weight that shows up in the form of guilt, worry, shame, anxiety, fear, fatigue, stress, pressure, deadlines, etc. Everyday brings it’s own “stuff” and what does the world do? Piles it on. Now don’t get me wrong, this isn’t some funny joke. I’m the one who picks it up, takes it on and then goes to God with my “stuff” as if I expect him to fix it.

Well, he did.

Not only did He take it all, He gave it all – for me! For you! I love the verses in Matthew and am reminded that His burden is light. So I’m taking that brick off of my back and giving it to God; praising Him for giving me a better life.

Leave a Reply

