Law Breakers Beware

Speed Limit

Today’s Devotion: Leviticus 20

Rules, rules, rules! I like rules that protect, but I hate rules that restrict. Why are we like that as humans? We want our cake and eat it too. That sin nature sure likes to lead us off the path of righteousness, doesn’t it?!

Confession: One law that I frequently break is the speed limit. I know speed limits are in place for a reason, but I’m usually running late, in a hurry or just want to get somewhere. I have had plenty of very friendly (and not-so-friendly) officers pull me over to remind me of what the law is. There are consequences for breaking the law, if I get a ticket I don’t argue or resist – getting a ticket is a consequence of breaking the law. I can’t get upset with law enforcement for doing there job and making sure I obey.

Leviticus is a heavy book of rules and laws and God is not giving options; His penalties are severe. I guess it serves to prove that God doesn’t ‘play’ with sin. As I read some of His DO NOT’s, I cringe. I can’t imagine that anyone would do the certain things named in this chapter, but clearly there are those who can, and do. Our prison’s are full of law breakers, evidence that sin is alive and well. God is also telling them in advance that their conduct has consequences and He is the enforcer – if they choose to participate in these sinful acts, they will be punished. His punishment is very harsh too!

My favorite set of verses of chapter 19 is verse 7-8 “Consecrate yourselves and be holy, because I am the LORD your God. Keep my decrees and follow them. I am the LORD, who makes you holy.” I tend to look for the positive in all things and this verse is as positive as it gets because The LORD does make us holy. He is unapologetic about that too and the beautiful part is that we are better for it.

So today I learned that I need to beware. The wages of sin is death (Romans 6:23), but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our LORD. And so it is… that is something to take very seriously and not take for granted.

Leave a Reply

